“Why should we accept you?” Answering application letters.

Smile for the camera

Smile for the camera!

For the past week, I’ve been putting up some materials for my application to an art group. The last question in the form comes in that dreaded sentence.

I am not sure how to tackle the question, so I asked my seatmate “How do you think should I answer this…?”

“The practical way?”

Because it can provide me with more job opportunities.

“The (slightly bit) butt-kiss-uppery way?”

Because I know that your group can help me grow as a person.

“Or the super honest way?”

Because I like your group. That is all.

My seatmate gave me a look that says “I don’t know/what the hell/your call.”

I laughed. I’ll probably give it my own version to that answer. And I hope my answer will fit in the provided box.

  1. March 11th, 2012

Leave a Reply

