Room for Rent, Fernando St., KNL

Contact: 09991964204

Ad says:

-P3.500/mo (3-5 persons)

-Second Floor

-Sariling Sala, Kusina, Kwarto

-Sariling Hagdan (Don’t know what that means, but I’ll find out)

-Sariling submeter ng kuryente

-P100/head ang tubig

This is too good to be true!  A room for 3.5k that’s big enough for 5 people! And have its own kitchen! But wait, where’s the bathroom?

I went to that place last night to check it out (my sister wanted specifically to have a place to cook). But I don’t know where Fernando Street is, but I contacted the number and told me to meet up at the church in Plaza Sta. Ynez. Hmm…that’s a bit far from the main road, I thought (C.P. Garcia’s my reference). But still worth checking out.

My contact turned out to be a guy (which is rare since I always encounter female owners). He led me to a series of turns and narrow roads. I think this is the apartment complex they’re all talking about. This is near if you ride a tricycle from Savemore Sikatuna, and just walk from a corner in Maginhawa Street, I’m guessing.

Anyway, the “unit” is half of the second floor of their house, which you can reach by a steep set of stairs. The “sala” place (I would say sala, but it can be big enough to place a small table in there for dining) has two couches (placed askew in the middle), and a tv cabinet at the other end of the room.

That’s the right side of the room when you enter the front door. On the left is a space which the owner plans on setting up a sink (when I arrived, it was empty). At the far end, just past the living room, is the bedroom which is disappointingly not done yet. There is no wall and no ceiling yet, and the space is just half of the living room (prolly enough to squeeze a double deck bed in there).

Here’s a floor plan, just in case you can’t understand my babbling:

So…where’s the bathroom?

He led me down the stairs and went inside the main house, where the bathroom is. It doesn’t matter if the bathroom is small, or odd looking, as long as its clean. Yes, this was clean, but it worried me that I have to go down the stairs (outside) to get inside the bathroom. If there are going to be some tummy emergencies, it’s going to be quite a chore.

The owner’s parents are quite nice. The father has sooo many caattss!! (I am a sucker for pets, especially cats) If location is more pleasable, I would take that unit just for the cats.

Rating:

Affordability: 4/5 (a submeter would mean a monthly electric bill or equivalent)
Location: 2/5 (If you don’t mind walking a lot)
Cleanliness/Ambiance: 2/5
Safety: 3/5

Total:  2.75/5

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

